Denfeld News

April 22, 2007
Duluth Budgeteer News

Pitching will be an asset at Denfeld
By Katie Lajiness

The Duluth Denfeld fastpitch softball team is part of the Lake Superior Conference and Section 7AA.

Head Coach Dick Swanson is beginning his 13th season coaching at Denfeld and previously coached at Duluth Central for three seasons. His coaching record is 169 wins and 136 losses, with four Lake Superior Conference titles and one section championship.

Emily Sanderberg is the new junior varsity coach. She recently replaced Kelly Fenstad, who coached at Denfeld for three years and now coaches in Mora, Minn. Tim Utt, Roger Axleson, Jeff Dieryck, Lindsay Lundeen and Ashley St. Arnold are assistant coaches.

Returning letter winners include senior tri-captain and shortstop Jenny Lowe. Tanya Croger is a second team All-LSC player who plays third base and in the outfield. Molly Talbot is the catcher. Rachel Moe plays second base and in the outfield. Erin Ridgewell plays first base, in the outfield and designated hitter.

Junior players include Jena Dieryck, who plays second base, outfield and catcher. Brittany Yagoda plays third base and in the outfield. Allison Kucera is also an outfielder. Jeremy Merila plays in the infield and the outfield.

Sophomore players are Laura Bellamy, who made first team All-LSC, and Allison Severson, who plays in the outfield and infield.

The team lost Holly Galazen, a former captain and outfielder to graduation.

Laura Olson is a current senior, was second team All-LSC, but is not playing this season because she is attending college.

Last season’s record was 7-11. The team placed third in the LSC.

Croger, Bellamy, Lowe and Dieryck all hit over .300 last year.

Coach Swanson says, “We need to hit better with runners in scoring position and play solid defense to improve on last year. (Our) pitching should be an asset with Laura Bellamy and ninth grader Kaitlyn Bagley. We will miss Olson’s RBIs.”

News Archive

2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010
2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005
2004 | 2003 | 2000 | 1998 | 1996
1994 | 1992 | 1988 | 1986 | 1979
1976 | 1958 | 1953 | 1944 | 1939
1932 | 1925 | 1905