Denfeld News

April 29, 2007
Duluth Budgeteer News

Denfeld golf: A brand new day
By Matt Suoja

The Denfeld Hunters may only have three section team players returning on their boys golf team, but head coach Mark Krysiak believes that is a good start.

“They are a solid core,” said Krysiak. “After that, we are young.”

Coming back this year on the boy’s side are juniors Chris Stafne and Trent Johnson. Stafne had a scoring average of 75.6 and qualified for state. He ended up finishing 27th there, after being tied for second on the first day.

Johnson had a scoring average of 81.9 last season and was named to the All Lake Superior Conference. He has been with the team since seventh grade.

Ryan Tupica, a sophomore, is also helping out the cause. Last season he had a scoring average of 85.8.

According to Krysiak, all of the members of the girls team are new.

“Our only returning letterman is not playing this year,” said Krysiak, who has been coaching the team since 1992.

A solid group from the boy’s team and some newcomers on the girl’s team, will have to make up for some key losses last season.

The boys team lost Brett Johnson, Brandon Owen and Ryan Hanson, while the girls team lost Jill Dieryck. These players helped lead a team that was second in the Lake Superior Conference as well as 10th in Section 7AA.

Last season the team finished second at the Cloquet Invitational, third at the Virginia Invitational, fourth at the J. Scott Memorial in Hayward and fifth at the Shattuck Invitational.

Even with some key losses, Krysiak still has a positive outlook for the team.

“We have players who put time into their game in the off-season,” he said.

Some of the teams that they will be competing against in the Lake Superior Conference include Marshall, Duluth Central and Hermantown.

The boys team will start its season on Friday against Grand Rapids at Pokegama Golf Course. The girls will start their season on Tuesday, May 1, against Hermantown, Ashland and Cloquet at Enger Park Golf Course.

News Archive

2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010
2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005
2004 | 2003 | 2000 | 1998 | 1996
1994 | 1992 | 1988 | 1986 | 1979
1976 | 1958 | 1953 | 1944 | 1939
1932 | 1925 | 1905