Denfeld News

July 24, 2008
Denfeld Alumni News

Foundation awards 2008 scholarships

The Duluth-Superior Area Community Foundation has announced its 2008 scholarship recipients. The foundation awarded scholarships in 33 different funds to more than 250 students in the region, totaling more than $800,000.

The following scholarships were awarded to Denfeld graduates:

. The Robert B. & Sophia Whiteside Scholarships is awarded on the basis of academic excellence. Denfeld recipients are Rachel Johnson and Steve VanOvermeiren.

. The Lawrence E. and Mabel Jackson Rudberg Scholarship Fund provides scholarships to students from Duluth or Two Harbors. Ashlie Suomala of Denfeld was a recipient.

. The Anderson-Niskanen Scholarship is given to graduating seniors of Duluth Public Schools who will attend UMD or UM-Twin Cities. Chad Smith of Denfeld was a recipient.

. The Minnesota Power Community Involvement Scholarship recognizes contributions that high school students make in their communities. Denfeld recipients are Rachel Johnson and Faith Sisto.

. The Gernander Scholarships honor Denfeld graduates who have demonstrated both athletic and academic excellence. The 2008 winners are Adam Caskey and Katherine Kero.

. Scholarships in memory of Greg Irons honor the former teacher who devoted his life to helping others. Faith Sisto is the Denfeld recipient.

. The Greg Irons Award is presented to a Duluth Public Schools teacher or staff member who illustrates the work of Greg Irons. The recipient is Claire Chopp, an orchestra teacher at Denfeld High School.

. The Patricia S. Gustafson ’56 Scholarship, established in 2007 to honor the memory of Denfeld graduate and Duluth resident Patricia S. Gustafson, was awarded to Samantha Avery.

. The Nessell Scholarship, honoring the memory of Amelia and Emanuel Nessell, was awarded to Alice Scheer.

. The Marie V. Saltwick Scholarship provides scholarships to Denfeld graduates who display academic promise and high levels of character. This year 17 awards were made to the following students: Allegra Birdseye, Allison Kucera, Amanda Saari, Anna Lonke, Ashly Kimball, Bobbie DeFrang, Cassi Hammerstrom, Conor Flood, Emily Kienitz, Jacques Beaulier, Jamie Merila, Jonathan Helander, Kham Moua Moua, Michael Ekberg, Reece Zimm, Renee Walczynski and Tamika Gilbert.

The Duluth Superior Area Community Foundation is a permanent community endowment, built by gifts from hundreds of individuals and organizations. It currently has total assets of more than $50 million. Guided by a 13-member board of volunteer civic leaders, the Community Foundation makes grants to nonprofit organizations and to individuals for scholarships and provides leadership on important community initiatives in the area.

News Archive

2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010
2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005
2004 | 2003 | 2000 | 1998 | 1996
1994 | 1992 | 1988 | 1986 | 1979
1976 | 1958 | 1953 | 1944 | 1939
1932 | 1925 | 1905